What’s Goin’ On

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-kA3UtBj4M

I haven’t written here in nearly three months, and a lot has happened.

I sent the manuscripts for Diamond Duty, the Civil War baseball novel I wrote about in June and Mata’s Story, which re-tells the events of the Beyond the Blue Horizon series from the point of view of Mata (neé  Kerchner), Otto Kerchner’s sister.

I arranged for an audiobook to be made of On Wings of the Morning  through ACX.com, a recording service run by Amazon.com along the lines of Createspace. I posted part of the manuscript and received bids from five “producers,” chose one, and sent him the whole book. He should be finished in a  couple of weeks, and I can’t wait to see what he comes up with! This is very exciting! You can tell by the number of exclamation points I’m using!!!!!!

My role with Prince William Living has changed. I’m not longer a copy and production editor (although I’m sure I will still do some editing), but am adding articles for the print magazine to the online work I’ve been doing. In this, I’m working with a wonderful writer with a lot of journalistic experience, Colleen La May, who moved here from Idaho where she was a magazine and newspaper writer. We’re going to be producing articles on the Prince William County Poet Laureate program and on the Little Library initiative, in which small boxes decorated like schools or toy boxes or telephone booths are stocked with a variety of books in a number of places such as parks, schools, and clubs. Borrowers are free to take books and leave some in their place.

Alice Mergler and the Schoolhouse Little Library

(Photo by Victor Rook)

Here’s Alice Mergler, founder of the New School, in front of the school with he first Little Library.

So, I’ve been busy but I’m enjoying it. I’m between books now, and I miss the discipline of writing daily. I’m not sure what my next project may be. It might be Beyond the Blue Horizon Book Six, On the Wings of Hope, which could appear in January, 2017. We’ll see. But I promise to keep you better informed about what I’m doing. I should have plenty of time to keep up my blogs, and I hope you’ll enjoy what I write there. And so, as the French would say, “A bientôt, mes amis!”

About huckfinn47

I taught high school English for 32 years, all at Robinson High School in Fairfax, VA. My students called me "Mr. V," and I was fortunate to have some terrific young people in my classes. I have made contact with some of them, particularly on Facebook, and enjoy seeing what they're up to. My other nickname, given to me by our then assistant pastor Jim Vaught, is Lieutenant Dan, after the Gary Sinise character in Forrest Gump, one of my favorite movies. I never got anywhere near military service, so the name is somewhat ironic. I greatly admire our troops and respect their sacrifices. On the Wings of Morning is my first novel worth talking about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

